Lara

Lara

Skin: Glam Affair – Sia (TCF)
Hair: Blueberry – Alessa
Pearls: DeviousMind – Sarah la Seductrice
Lingerie: Erratic – Giselle
Shoes: SSD – Mata hari jeweled stiletto

Onyx Leshelle of Maitreya was kind enough to send me the new Lara mesh body just before release, but because of the holidays, I’ve only just gotten round to reviewing it now!

I’d been lusting after this body after I’d seen teasers for it on Onyx’s Flickr and now that it’s finally out, the hype was 100% justified. The overall shape is nice, and you can achieve a myriad of different body shapes, easily taking yourself from slender to curvy and everything in between without any weird rigging or what have you.

What I adore about this body most is the fact that it’s already got Glam Affair skins built in as default presets. So, for me as someone whose inventory is made of up 98% Glam Affair skins, you can understand my joy when I find out I don’t need to go out and buy yet more appliers for yet another mesh body. Of course, other skin brands will be making appliers for this too.

Side-by-side of popular fitted mesh bodies currently on the market. Same shape, same appliers. Raw image apart from cropping, text and censor bars.
Hair: Olive – The Melody

Currently, the only downside to this body for me personally would be the fact that at the moment there is only one hand pose included. But I did ask Onyx about this and here’s what she had to say;

Xanthe: The hands are really pretty, but do you have plan to make different hand poses in future?
Onyx: yes thats the plan🙂 We didnt want to delay the release further for that at this point. And since people seem really happy with their slink hands and feet, in which they invested so much, i thought that many people will be ok with their slink hands for now (if they want more poses). I am also interested in feedback about such things. It is hard to know what people wish for. if there are people who want more hands, id love to make more hand options
Xanthe: Ooh I see! It’s great that you made it compatible with slink. I really like how realistic your hands are though. One thing I liked about the Belleza body was the fact that you can change hand poses in a single HUD. I think if Maitreya did something like that it’d be a huge help. It’s good having slink hand poses as an option for now but it’s a hassle rifling through folders to find a certain pose you know?
Onyx: yes I understand
Onyx: that was a great idea of belleza indeed
Onyx: we would need to invest some time in that, making more hands. But i would love to

I think it’s very fair not to delay the release any further, and since the Lara body is seamlessly compatible with slink hands, there shouldn’t be any issues for those who want to use different hand poses for the time being.

The feet that come with the body are beautifully realistic and I appreciate them a lot. However they are not compatible with slink shoes, so designers will have to make Maitreya-compatible shoes for those who prefer to wear the Lara feet as opposed to the Slink feet with their Maitreya body.

Many people who purchased the body have reported seeing ‘jagged shoulders’, but it’s not something that I’ve noticed myself. I’ve seen from screenshots that it can either be chalked down to a very minor rigging issue or something to do with the graphics for some. But I can’t say for sure since I haven’t experienced this.

Favourite Features

  • Seamlessly compatible with Slink hands + feet (XS size only)
  • Compatible with Omega system appliers
  • Rigged mesh lingerie included + Appliers lingerie by Zaara included
  • Preset with 10 skin-tones by Glam Affair
  • 3 layers for appliers
  • 3 foot styles
  • 3 Nail Lengths

All in all, I’d say this is hands down my favourite body so far. Maitreya is ticking all the right boxes with regards to realistic shape and making it compatible with other brands already on the market. Their alpha hud makes it easy to fit into any mesh clothes you might have and I’ll happily give it bonus points for using Glam Affair skins as default presets.

A big thank you to Onyx Leshelle who provided this body for review

*X*

Bed: Sway – Neal unmade bed

Flower Canopy: Kalopsia – Fancy Gazebo

Vanity: Cheeky Pea – bureau de brioude (Uber)

One thought on “Lara

Have your say!

